Click arrow at the bottom of page to hear music


* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )

World Wide Davey


Previous events


Welcome to the Official website of Davey O. -





“Some Days” - the NEW 6 song EP - available NOW! on the “store” page!!!






* "A Bright Horizon Line" - #3 among the Top 10 albums, and the #26 Most Played Artist of 2017 by Dan Herman, Radio Crystal Blue, Tacoma, WA

* "A Bright Horizon Line" - included among the album choices in the Year End Reader's Poll of No Depression Magazine!!!

* "A Bright Horizon Line" - included among the "2017 Favorite CD's" by Chris Kocher, host of The Signal, WHRW, Binghamton, NY

* New CD, "A Bright Horizon Line" (released April 1st, 2017) - debuts in the Top 20 albums for April on Folk-DJ Chart

* 2016 & 2017 Nominee - Sportsmen's Americana Music Foundation, Jim Lauderdale Songwriter of the Year Award

2015 Finalist - 32nd Annual Mid-Atlantic Song Contest

Selected Artist - 2015 NERFA Conference Suzi Wollenburg DJ Showcase

* Selected Artist - 2014 Passim Campfire Festival

* 2013 Kerrville New Folk Finalist

* 2013 Best New Artist - Radio Crystal Blue, Tacoma, WA

* Official Showcase Selection - 2011 International Folk Alliance Conference

* "No Passengers" - among the Top 100 Contemporary Folk Albums of 2014 - Roots Music Reports

* "No Passengers" counted among the Best of 2014 - WHRW (Binghamton, NY), WAMC (Albany, NY), The Sundilla Radio Hour (Auburn, AL), WMSC (Montclair, NJ), Radio Crystal Blue (Tacoma, WA), WVPE (Elkhart, IN)

"One of these artists who takes a modicum of musical coal and squeezes it hard enough to produce some diamonds is the acclaimed singer-songwriter Davey O who has supported many top tier artists throughout his career. His new ten-song collection “…a bright horizon line,” is a continuation of this concise singer-songwriter’s testament of absorbing story songs." - John Apice, No Depression

"(with "A Bright Horizon Line"), this modern day troubadour has released another stellar album of Americana Roots music from the heart and the head....The album seems to form a cinematic passage that is rewarding for both the artist and the listener" - Bob Silvestri, Best of

"Acoustic Harvest had the pleasure of having Davey O grace our stage, giving a wonderful opening set for Linda McRae. He is an astute artist, with a insightful and thought provoking sensibility; a strong voice and songs which immerse his audiences in the stories of everyday life, hardship, history and love. And in all my years of presenting, I don't think I've ever quite heard such important, beautiful and heartfelt words of gratitude to the audience for supporting live music and all the working artists of the world."  -  Lillian Wauthier, Artistic Director, Acoustic Harvest, Toronto, Canada

"a rare voice for the actual struggling everyday people of this world--not filtered through legend or tradition, but as actually and personally experienced" - Sarah Craig, Manager, Caffe Lena

"Davey O. crafts intimate, folk-and country-based slices of a life examined. With a journalist’s eye for detail and poet’s ear for the well-turned observation, he finds the universal in the particular, turning day-to-day minutiae into dusty paeans to the indomitability of the human spirit." - Jeff Miers, The Buffalo News



It's no surprise that Buffalo, NY born and bred songwriter Davey O. has been described by Buffalo News critic Jeff Miers as having "a journalist’s eye for detail and poet’s ear for the well-turned observation".  Embarking on a twenty year journey that has resulted in a collection of justly-earned, highly introspective songs, Davey crafts pure Americana that is not of the social and political consciousness, but drawn from the deep well of experience and human emotion - no hackneyed story lines, no insincere polish, just an unflinching poet's look at life. The characters woven seamlessly into stories of which the song itself becomes the soundtrack for the movie playing inside the listener's head.

Armed with a steady, rhythmic pulse on his Gibson guitar, and a no apologies rust-belt work ethic, Davey puts rubber to asphalt, entertaining attentive, diverse audiences at listening rooms, coffeehouses, nightclubs, festivals, colleges and universities throughout the Northeast, Midwest, Midsouth and Atlantic U.S. - performances that result in engagement and communion between performer and audience through story and song.

The hard work has paid off with recognition by way of a New Folk Finalist Selection at The 2013 Kerrville Folk Festival, an Official Showcase Selection at the 2011 Folk Alliance Conference and coveted opening act slots for Ellis Paul, Dan Navarro, Lucy Kaplansky, Amy Speace, Tracy Grammer, Eilen Jewell, Suzanne Vega, Eric Andersen, Cheryl Wheeler, Sloan Wainwright, Kim & Reggie Harris, Seth Glier, Watchhouse (formerly Mandolin Orange), Pierce Pettis, Vance Gilbert, Peter Mulvey, The Kennedys, and Poco.

In August 2012, Davey released - "Testing For Rust" which grabbed the attention of Folk & Americana DJ's across the country, earning him top grades on the Folk DJ Charts. "Testing For Rust" debuted on FOLK DJ Radio Charts at #20, made the Top Sellers on CD Baby, hit the Airplay Direct Charts Top 50, and spent 11 weeks in the Top 25 on the Roots Music Report (RMR) for State of NY.  "Testing For Rust" was also placed on the 2012 "Best of" lists by radio stations WVPE (Elkhart, IN), WHRW (Binghamton, NY), 90FM (Stevens Point, WI) and WMSC (Montclair, NJ). 

In September 2014, Davey released a 7 song EP, "No Passengers", co-produced by Neale Eckstein at Fox Run Studios in Sudbury, MA over the course of a day and a half. Like its predecessor "Testing For Rust", "No Passengers" also captured the hearts of folk DJ's around the country, debuting as a Top 20 album on the Folk DJ Charts for September 2014 and remaining a Top 25 Contemporary Folk CD on the Roots Music Reports for the better part of five months. "No Passengers" also received critical acclaim with inclusion on the "Best of 2014" lists of no less than six radio stations - WHRW (Binghamton, NY), WAMC (Albany, NY), WMSC (Montclair, NJ), Radio Crystal Blue (Tacoma, WA), WVPE (Elkhart, IN) and The Sundilla Radio Hour (Auburn, AL).  “No Passengers” was also graded among the Top 100 Contemporary Folk Albums of 2014 on the Roots Music Reports, landing in the #25 position.

Davey built on the success of his previous releases with the 2017 release of his new, full length CD, “A Bright Horizon Line”. Joined by veteran folk artists Tracy Grammer (background vocals), and Pat Wictor (dobro), as well as up and coming artists Matt Nakoa (piano), and Eric Lee (mandolin, fiddle), “A Bright Horizon Line” is a collection of 10 tracks (9 original compositions, and a cover of the Crowded House classic “Don’t Dream It’s Over”)  – each one taking the listener on an adventure via music and words, strung along the common thread of this journey we are all on. Co-produced with Neale Eckstein at Fox Run Studios, the production values and arrangements are clear, concise, and cinematic in their quality, successfully capturing the elements of both contemporary and traditional folk music.

Since June of 2020, Davey has been releasing new music in a digital only format via "The Share Project" , with all proceeds of these downloads donated directly to his local food bank, FeedMore WNY. In August of 2023, Davey released a new 6 song EP, "Some Days", a collection of songs recorded in his home studio, remixed and mastered by Neale Eckstein at Fox Run Studios in Sudbury, MA.

Davey currently resides in the Buffalo suburb of Amherst, NY with his partner Sheila, and their cats, Lola and Bigsby.



The Long Way Home (2009)

Testing For Rust (2012)

No Passengers (2014)

A Bright Horizon Line (2017)

The Share Project (digital only release - 2020)

Some Days (2023)